Ukraine is closing seaports located on the territory of the Crimea - in Yalta, Kerch, Sevastopol, Feodosiya, Yalta, and Sevastopol - to international shipping. According to the press service of the Cabinet of Ministers, the relevant order was registered in the Ministry of Justice on June 24, and it will enter into force after its official publication.

Maryna Nahaevska, a spokeswoman for the State Sea and River Transport Safety Inspectorate (Ukrmorrichinspektsia), explained to the Ukrainska Pravda online newspaper that the government directive on closure of the ports needed to be agreed with all ministries because it was adopted “by ear” at a meeting of the Cabinet of Ministers.

This procedure has now been completed, and the Ministry of Infrastructure expects the decision to be published and introduced on Wednesday, 9 July.

Ukraine informed the International Maritime Organization (IMO) of the impending decision to close the Crimean ports in mid-May.