An agreement on a Common Aviation Area between Ukraine and the European Union was signed during the Ukraine-EU summit in Kyiv on 12 October, the CFTS portal reports, citing the Interfax Ukraine news agency.

The agreement was signed by Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal and the European Union’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/European Commission Vice President Josep Borrell.

The Common Aviation Area agreement will improve air links between Ukraine and the European Union and create conditions for new commercial opportunities for the airlines of Ukraine and European Union member states.

As reported earlier, the Council of the European Union agreed on June 28 to sign the Open Skies agreement with Ukraine and three other countries (Armenia, Tunisia, and Qatar). The agreement with Ukraine will be implemented temporarily until all the necessary procedures for its entry into force are completed.