Foreigners from countries that require visas to enter Ukraine will have to obtain two visas to enter the Crimea, the Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced.

As reported, Russia introduced visas for entry into the Crimea and Sevastopol for foreigners on March 31. According to the Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, entry into the peninsula is possible only by first entering Ukrainian territory through the existing border crossings and obtaining the relevant stamps in passports or immigration cards.

The Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs stressed in a statement that failure to comply with Ukrainian legislation entails responsibility and could lead to imposition of international sanctions against offending foreigners and people supporting the temporary occupation of part of Ukrainian territory.

Transport links with the Crimea are currently effected by sea through the Krasnodar region of Russia (the Kerch-Port Kavkaz ferry), by air through Moscow airports, and by rail and road through mainland Ukraine.